Today: Wednesday, 21 February 2024 year

Cristiano Ronaldo won Ballon d’Or 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo won Ballon d’Or 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo won in the fourth time the prestigious Ballon d’Or award, now, the 31-year-old is now one behind Barcelona’s Messi, who took the honour for the fifth time in 2015.

The Portugal footballer Ronaldo got his fourth Ballon d’Or award, this year, Cristiano beats rival Lionel Messi. The third athlete in the vote was Antoine Griezmann, the forward from Atletico Madrid.

The former Manchester United forward helped Real Madrid win last season’s Champions League and scored three goals as Portugal won Euro 2016.

Ronaldo has now won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, with Messi the only other recipient of the award since winning it for the first time in 2009. Ronaldo said:

“I never thought in my mind that I would win the Golden Ball four times. I am pleased. I feel so proud and happy. I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.”

Cristiano has scored 19 goals in 20 games for club and country this term, to add to the 54 he got last season.