Today: Saturday, 18 May 2024 year

Kosovo authorities have closed another checkpoint at the exit to Serbia.

Kosovo authorities have closed another checkpoint at the exit to Serbia.

The authorities of the self-proclaimed Kosovo closed the largest checkpoint “Merdare” at the exit to central Serbia after blocking the checkpoint by protesters from the Serbian side.

It is noted that after the closure of two more checkpoints earlier in December, only three points remain open.

On the eve it was reported that the Serbs in Kosovska Mitrovica in northern Kosovo set up new barricades on the roads.

Earlier, the self-proclaimed Kosovo police reported that the Yarine and Brnjak checkpoints at the exit to central Serbia remain closed indefinitely. The reason for this decision was called the barricades on the respective highways.

Tensions remain in Kosovo and Metohija. Police in the self-proclaimed Republic of Kosovo in December detained several police officers in the north on suspicion of war crimes during the 1998-1999 conflict and terrorism. On December 10, Kosovo Serbs erected barricades because of this and are on duty on the highways in the north of the region.

The situation on the barricades themselves in the municipalities of Leposavić, Zvecan and Zubin Potok remains peaceful, with local Serbs on duty in tents at night. During the day, local women also come out to the barricades. In the Serbian segment of social networks, videos of the movement of military equipment in the municipality of Raska and the flight of Mi-35 helicopters of the country’s Air Force are being distributed.

The Prime Minister of the self-proclaimed Republic of Kosovo, Albin Kurti, on December 15 handed over the application of Pristina to join the EU to the Czech Republic presiding in the Council of the European Union. In response, the Serbian Ministry of Defense transmitted a request to the command of the NATO KFOR mission to introduce a limited contingent of up to 1,000 Serbian police and military forces into Kosovo and Metohija in accordance with UN Security Council resolution 1244. A number of EU countries – Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Slovakia and Romania – do not recognize Kosovo.