Today: Wednesday, 29 May 2024 year

Syria’s President Assad met senior Russian delegation

Syria’s President Assad met senior Russian delegation

The Syrian President Bashar al-Assad met senior Russian delegation on Tuesday, which included Russian president’s special envoy for Syrian settlement Alexander Lavrentyev, Sputnik reports.

During the Damascus meeting between President Assad and a Russian high-profile delegation, the latest developments in Syria was discussed. The top officials from Russia included the representatives from both the foreign and defence ministries.

The meeting was aimed at pushing for a political settlement in war-torn Syria. Putin’s special envoy for Syrian settlement Alexander Lavrentyev and Deputy Foreign Minister Sergei Vershinin are continuing the policy, which eliminates the remaining nests of jihadists in Syria.

Syria’s government procrastinates works of established Constitutional Committee

A the same time, Kremlin advisors are working with problems of the political settlement process. Thus, President Assad’s meeting with a senior Russian foreign and defence ministry officials was focused on the situation in and around Syria, efforts to ensure lasting stabilization, elimination of remaining terrorists’ nests, as well as on measures of comprehensive humanitarian assistance to all those who need it in Syria.

“It will promote voluntary and safe return of refugees and internally displaced persons,” the Russian foreign ministry said and added that apart from that, the sides discussed the process of the United Nations-backed political settlement carried out by the Syrians. The work of the Constitutional Committee in Geneva is a must, Sergey Lavrov said.

The visit of the Russain advisors to Syria is taking place just a day before the United Nations Special Envoy for Syria, Geir Pedersen, scheduled to visit Damascus on Wednesday. Russian top diplomat Sergei Lavrov had met with Pedersen in Moscow to discuss the Syrian peace process as well as Syria’s government procrastinating works of the Constitutional Committee.