Today: Wednesday, 21 February 2024 year

The SCO secretariat raised the flag of Iran.

The SCO secretariat raised the flag of Iran.

The solemn ceremony of raising the flag of Iran took place on Tuesday at the secretariat of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization in Beijing after the country officially joined the association as a full member.

“Just a few minutes ago, we witnessed the historic decision by the leaders of the SCO member states to accept the Islamic Republic of Iran as a full member of the organization … We are sure that Iran’s accession as a full member state of the organization will create new opportunities for developing cooperation in the field of security and stability, expansion of trade and economic relations, interaction in the field of transport, investment, tourism, energy and other areas of mutual interest,” Zhang Ming, Secretary General of the organization, said at the ceremony.

He also noted that “for a long time, the ‘Shanghai spirit’ has united us all and has become our common guideline on the way forward.”

“I am confident that, through the joint efforts of member states, we will continue to develop the “Shanghai Spirit”, turn challenges into opportunities, and contribute more to peace, security, development and prosperity in our region and in the world,” Zhang Ming added.

On Tuesday, under the chairmanship of India, the twenty-third meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization was held via videoconference. The summit was marked by the accession of Iran to the SCO, which has already become the ninth permanent member of the association.

Iran signed a memorandum of commitment to obtain the status of a member state of the association at the previous SCO summit in Samarkand in September 2022.

As Iranian Foreign Ministry spokesman Nasser Kanaani noted, the admission of Iran to the Shanghai Cooperation Organization as a full member would be in the interests of all parties involved.

The SCO is an international organization founded in 2001. India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Uzbekistan and Iran participate in it. Observer countries – Afghanistan, Belarus and Mongolia, partner countries – Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka. At the SCO summit in Samarkand in 2022, memorandums were signed on granting the status of dialogue partners to Egypt and Qatar.